News of the Society (2021)

Meetings of Executive Council (EC) and Editorial board (EB) of Society of Ethnobotanists were held regularly. The first meeting of the newly constituted EC and EB was held virtually on 27.12.20. Dr. A.A. Mao, Director, Botanical Survey of India and the President of SEB, provided valuable suggestions from time to time for the smooth functioning of the Society.

SEB Medal Awards (2020)

The recipients of the Medals are as follows:

- 1. E.K. Janaki Ammal Medal: Dr. D.A. Patil
- 2. **J.W. Harshberger Medal:** Dr. Nabin Kumar Dhal
- 3. Dr. S.K. Jain Medal: Dr. Veena Satya
- 4. **Dr. B.N. Mehrotra Medal:** Dr. Sanjeev Kumar Ojha
- 5. **Dr. D.C. Pal Medal:** Dr. Pankaj A. Dhole, Dr. Vijay Vishnu Wagh
- 6. Prof. P. Sen Sarma Medal: No award
- 7. Dr. S.K. Jain Award' for best Ph.D. thesis in Ethnobotany: Dr. Sagari Chaudhary; Title of the thesis: "Studies in Ethnobotany of Lodha Tribe of West Bengal and nutraceutical analysis of selected plant species".
- 8. **Best Paper Award:** Dr. Kumar Avinash Bharti

Fellows of Society of Ethnoboanists (2021)

- 1. **Dr. O.P. Chaurasia**, Scientist G & Director, Defence Institute of High Altitude Research (formerly FRL), DRDO, Leh, Union Territory of Ladakh.
- 2. **Dr. Kumar Avinash Bharti**, Scientist-C, Central National herbarium, Botanical Survey of India, Howrah, West Bengal.
- 3. **Dr. Ramesh Kumar Ahirwar**, Assistant Professor, Department of Botany, Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya (A Central University), Bilaspur, Chhattisgarh.
- 4. **Dr. Vijay Vishnu Wagh,** Senior Scientist, Plant Diversity, Systematics and Herbarium Division, CSIR-National Botanical Research Institute, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh.

- 5. **Dr. Faizi Ahmad**, Assistant Professor and Head, Department of Botany, Govt. College Kundam, Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh.
- 6. **Dr. Prasanjit Mukherjee**, Head, Department of Botany, K.K.M. College, Pakur, Jharkhand.

Establishment of SEB Local Chapters and formation of their Executive council and Editorial Board members

Four local chapters were established during this period:

- Tamil Nadu Chapter (10 Feb 2021)
- Goa Chapter (10 Feb 2021)
- Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh Chapter (July 2021)

Reconstitution of Advisory Editorial Board for the journal Ethnobotany

- 1. Prof. M.D. Merlin, USA
- 2. Prof. Paul Allan Cox, USA
- 3. Dr. T.K. Mukherjee (India)
- 4. Prof. A.K. Jain (India)
- 5. Dr. P.K. Hajra (India)6. Dr. R.R. Rao (India)
- 7. Prof. M.J. Balick (USA)
- 8. Dr. Mark Nesbitt (UK)
- 9. Prof. Pei Shenji (China)
- 10. Dr. A.G. Pandurangan (India)
- 11. Prof. R.B. Chettri (Nepal)

Demise

SEB condoles the sad demise of the following members:

- 1. Dr. S.K. Jain
- 2. Dr. K.K. Khanna
- 3. Dr. H.B. Singh

(Dr. Manjoosha Srivastava)

Secretary



