Vol. 32, 2020, pp 41

News of the Society (2020)

Meetings of Executive Council and Editorial Board of Society of Ethnobotanists were held regularly. Dr. D.K. Singh (President) of SEB provided valuable suggestions from time to time for the smooth functioning of the Society.

SEB Medal Awards (2018)

The recipients of the Medals are as follows:

- 1. E.K. Janaki Ammal Medal: No Award
- 2. J.W. Harshberger Medal: Dr. Bhasker L. Punjani
- 3. Dr. S.K. Jain Medal: Dr. Sudhanshu Kumar
- 4. Dr. B.N. Mehrotra Medal: Dr. K. Radhakrishnan
- 5. Dr. D.C. Pal Medal: Dr. Pradeep N. Saudagar
- 6. **Prof. P. Sen Sarma Medal:** Dr. Vidyanath Jha
- **Dr. S.K. Jain Award** for best Ph.D. thesis in Ethnobotany: Dr. Sanjay Vitthalrao Satpute. Title of the thesis: "Ethnobotanical Biodiversity Assessment of Warud Taluka (Distt. Amravati, M.S.) with special reference to Traditional Health Practices".

Medal Award function was held at S.K. Jain Institute of Ethnobiology, Jiwaji University, Gwalior (M.P.) on 5th March 2020.

Birbal Sahni Award- 2018

The prestigious Birbal Sahni Award-2018 was given to Dr. Anand Prakash, Sr. Scientist, CSIR-National Botanical Research Institute, Lucknow, (UP) on 30/12/2019 during Samman Samaroh and Foundation Day of Uttar Pradesh Hindi Sansthan presided over by the Hon'able Shri H.N Dixit and Chief Guest Hon'ble Shri Yogi Aditya Nath, Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for an Ethnobotanical book titled 'Aadivasi Aushadhiya v Arthik Bauddhik Sampada, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand'. The tribal tract of the state include 13 districts inhabited by the tribals, namely Tharus, Kols, Gonds, Bhoxaa, Kharwars, Jaunsaris, Bhotias, Mushars and Baiga.

Establishment of SEB Local Chapters and formation of their Executive council and Editorial Board members:

• Kerala Chapter (August 2020)

Election for 'Executive Council' and 'Editorial Board' 2020-23

Despite the difficult situations due to COVID-19 Pandemics, elections for Executive Council and Editorial Board of SEB were held. The nominations for various positions of EC and EB were invited through Email. The nominations for the election of various positions of Executive Council (EC) and Editorial Board (EB) of the Society of Ethnobotanists were received by 10th July, 2020 – the last date for receiving the nominations. The valid nominations were considered by a duly constituted committee and the following members were elected for the various positions in EC and EB:

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

Dr. A. A. Mao (President) Dr. A.K. Goel, (Vice-President, HQ) Prof. (Mrs.) P.Y. Bhogaonkar, (Vice-President) Dr. N. K. Dhal (Vice-President) Dr. Ranee Prakash (Vice-President) Dr. Manjoosha Srivastava (Secretary) Dr. Vijay Vishnu Wagh (Treasurer) Shri Anand Prakash (Member) Dr. B.K. Sinha (Member) Dr. D.K. Mishra, (Member) Dr. D.K. Upreti, (Member) Dr. K. Radhakrishnan (Member) Dr. N.C. Shah (Member) Dr. R.L.S. Sikarwar, (Member) Dr. (Ms) Roma Mitra, (Member) Dr. Virendra Nath, (Member)

EDITORIAL BOARD

Dr. D.K. Singh (Chief Editor) Dr. S.K. Srivastava, (Editor) Dr. L.B. Chaudhary (Managing Editor) Dr. Athar Ali Khan, (Member) Dr. A.K.S. Rawat (Member) Dr. A.K. Sahoo, (Member) Dr. Arvind Saklani, (Member) Dr. Bhasker L. Punjani, (Member) Dr. Harish Singh, (Member) Dr. Sanjeev Kr. Ojha (Member) Dr. V. Sampath Kumar (Member) Dr. Vartika Jain (Member)

Besides, the following are Honorary Members of SEB: 1. Prof. M.S. Swaminathan (India); 2. Dr. S.K. Jain (India); 3. Prof. Sir G.T. Prance (UK)

Demise: SEB condoles the sad demise of the following members:

- 1. Prof. W.H. Lewis
- 2. Dr. Hari Om Sharma
- 3. Dr. B.K. Sinha
- 4. Prof. M.K. Seth

Dr. Sayyada Khatoon Secretary



